Duo Restaurant – Denver – Or trio in my case

It’s complicated dating a British – moved to Wisconsin, then to Colorado, and now finally landing in San Francisco – guy. Totally worth it. However, add that to a three parent (and superbly loved!!!) family of my own, and we have a lot of “people we have to see and a lot of places to be ” for the  holidays.  Thus my posts of Boulder, Chicago, Denver, San Francisco, and….drumroll… London (technically Thaxted, a wee bit north, is where we stay, but beside the point) , will be quite frequent. Yes. We have family in all of these places. Yes, it presents for quite the interesting holiday visit rotation. Nonetheless its worth it, and really gets us to branch out of our “local, free range, healthy, highly opinionated food driven home – San Francisco”.

Thus, our visit to Duo in the Highlands neighborhood of Denver, came into play. Besides the fact that we flew in expecting some nice chilly weather – the Brit and I are definitely not mild climate people – and got, well, the same weather we have at home, we were pleasantly surprised by Duo. It was a great place to meet, catch up, and bask in the front window’s sunlight, while taking in a city that unfortunately we didn’t take advantage of when residing in Boulder for our CU years. Add that to a semi open kitchen, charming mis-matched cutlery and tableware, a superb floating wall of window frames, various dining levels, and an inviting U-shaped bar, and Duo is yours.

I had never heard of Duo, being that I don’t venture to Denver often, but my happiness with our meal, the cozy and funky but yet not even slightly pretentious atmosphere, stirred my thoughts of sharing it with others.

I will admit: I am a brunch skeptic. I always arrive excited to try something new, with great ingredients, and an equally excited crew of comrades. Normally I am met with disappointment as I read through the regular menu of eggs, bacon, pancakes,  french toast; you get the idea. To my surprise (and delight!) Duo definitely has created a niche of its own, and from what my dear friend Sarah says, has done so for their dinner too!

Cider Glazed Pork “Benedict” was a melt-in-your-mouth savory surprise to the norm, and a prosciutto, caramelized red onion, and Gruyère omelette that came alongside the most perfectly crisp home fried potatoes satisfied my hunger, and really showcased the local ingredients that Duo seeks to source. The house made pastry basket arrived warm, and was quickly devoured with the not-too-sweet, perfectly spiced apple compote I have tasted in ages. Combine that with a few other great not your every day selections, some leaf tea, french presse coffee, and tasty morning bevvies, and your brunch is made. As was mine. Our trio (wink!) of couples, all enjoyed, and will definitely be returning. Duo, you have earned your claim to fame. Oh, and so has your pastry chef too!

Hopefully, I will get to try those dinner entrees, desserts, and experience a bit more of Denver upon my next visit. I am definitely looking forward to it.

About Heather K

Community Manager by day - Aspiring Food Writer by night. I'm a dreamer, traveler, baker, cook, slow food advocate, runner, road biker, hiker, walker, urbanista, photographer, ceramicist, reader, sunset admirer, experimental, city kid, well-rounded, independent, and lover of all things English (esp. my Brit). Food. It connects everyone. It creates cultures, experiences, emotions, and environments. I grew up with a sibling, so I like to do sharesies - yes at dinner but online too. Plan - I share my passion for food with you, you share yours with me. We can have a proper chat :) Its the one thing I will never tire to chat (or learn!) about. Oh, and it would be superb to figure out my writing style and voice while I'm at it. Learn a little about myself here. Discuss experiences, trials, tribulations, and the journey. You know the schpeal. Go ahead. Take a bite.
This entry was posted in Boulder/Denver, Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

