The Holidays have Arrived!

There is one essential element to Chicago life that I will never – in my wildest dreams – get back unless I live in Chicago : my Omi’s (German for grandmother for those of you out of the loop) insane cooking. Now. I realize this could seem like a  biased perspective. However, if you have grandparents who could live out of their house sans making another trip to the store for 6+ months, you understand how someone of this culinary level might thrive. Just a thought people… these are my food roots!

Back to the real topic at hand: the arrival of the holidays. And my birthday. And traveling. And shopping.

December seems to be a busy month, and I never cease to love it any less (how could you when you know, if you really wanted you could watch A Christmas Story on TBS Christmas day 24 hours straight!? right? maybe not?). This year I am venturing home to the freezing land of tundra, pizza, Moody’s Pub, and frozen friends & family. Aka, Chicago – and oh am I ready. The special thing about this year though? The Brit is coming along to experience my Christmas escapades… I mean joyous times 😉

Those of you who might be the bi-products of a divorced family will understand the hullabaloo that revolves around the holidays. Especially so if they all live within 50 square miles of each other, as mine do. The only downside of growing up in Chi-town and living near all my famil? It never really feels like the holidays until I get to Chicago(or England and its frosty in at the farm, and chillish in London-town). Then, I experienced my first holiday season in San Francisco.

After relocating from San Jose to San Francisco(THANK GOD!) back in the spring, I have heard such rumors as “San Francisco is sooooooo cold!” and “I love San Francisco,except for the rain!” My reaction to both statements has been the same: “When!? Where?! How cold?! Its 50 degrees people, this is not cold!”

Finally, it happened. A week of cold, wet, foggy, rainy, windy weather was had in San Francisco, with today being its culmination. It started on Monday with a pretty strong chance of rain setting excitement for us cold weather folk. I woke up delighted on Tuesday to hear its pitter patter, see the gloomy effects on my neighborhood(not that my part of San Francisco needs weather to make it appear as such, ha) and see gray, for miles. I arrived at work on Wednesday in a blanket of fog, that stuck around all day, and of course Thursday the rain held off until it was time to go for a run along the Bay. Friday the Brit arrived home soaked(as did I after smartly walking the city for 4+ hours in denim with helter skelter sheets of rain). The Spaniard(our neighbor) needed a ride home due to the torrential rains, but the Brit, being the savvy rain traveler he is(he hails from wet weather’s home country, come on!) had rain gear and rode home like a champ! Unfortunately this same exact “smart Brit” did not bring an umbrella with him for our holiday shopping adventure Saturday, and as luck would have it, became drenched.  I, however, happily paraded around San Francisco with my umbrella and purchased goodies for those I love, finally feeling as if the holidays had arrived.  I loved every minute of it. Thank god for holiday time!

More to come on Chicago festivities, notables, and family happenings soon!

About Heather K

Community Manager by day - Aspiring Food Writer by night. I'm a dreamer, traveler, baker, cook, slow food advocate, runner, road biker, hiker, walker, urbanista, photographer, ceramicist, reader, sunset admirer, experimental, city kid, well-rounded, independent, and lover of all things English (esp. my Brit). Food. It connects everyone. It creates cultures, experiences, emotions, and environments. I grew up with a sibling, so I like to do sharesies - yes at dinner but online too. Plan - I share my passion for food with you, you share yours with me. We can have a proper chat :) Its the one thing I will never tire to chat (or learn!) about. Oh, and it would be superb to figure out my writing style and voice while I'm at it. Learn a little about myself here. Discuss experiences, trials, tribulations, and the journey. You know the schpeal. Go ahead. Take a bite.
This entry was posted in San Francisco, Thoughts - Memories - Pish Posh and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

