A trip to the movies: Foreign Cinema

There are a lot of “experiences” to have when living in San Francisco. Fortunately for the Brit and I(as well as all of our visitors) many of these stem from, well, food of course! As our list of restaurants to make it to one day keeps growing (Michael Mina – we will visit you one day, when my funds allow for it a bit more!), I find myself immersed in excitement of new foods, atmospheres, and that longing for the perfect restaurant experience (as you might know, I did share earlier Bar Tartine 100% takes the cake for me right now).

With incredible neighbors just as into food as us, and a few occasions to celebrate(their engagement) and mourn (their relocation to the East Coast, aka, very far away from us!) Foreign Cinema was selected as our holiday hoopla rendezvous spot. We entered Foreign Cinema ready to put our credible film critic talents to the test!

Armed with a bottle of Pinot from one of our favorite Santa Cruz producers, Tony Craig, we gladly took a seat outside on their open-air patio(it was comfortably insulated with heat-lamps, those things work wonders!)  with a view of the movie for the night as well as their enormous dining room with a roaring fire. After a quick glance and selection of a few intriguing menu items such as Calamari Roasted with Red Peppers and Lebnee(delish!), and Salt Cod Brandade with Garlic Toasts(unfortunately we failed to taste the salt cod over its’ other ingredients).

Dinner followed a similar pattern with a few winning supporting roles such as  the Cocoa-nib and Cumin Crusted Bavette Steak with Whipped Potatoes and Christmas Cabbage(tasty, but nothing beats my Omi’s 50+ yr practiced version), and a tasty, if not small Moroccan Lamb Brochette with Slow Braised Root Veg and Couscous. Unfortunately the Spaniard’s Swordfish size and texture ( a bit overcooked) didn’t meet the crowd’s expectations.

The showstopper though? The woman better known as THFTMCFC – Thank god for the Madras Curry Fried Chicken. Whoever thought up this unbeatable combo deserves the Oscar! A perfectly spiced, light-coating of curry batter was fried to perfection around tender morsels of chicken, and went well with its butternut squash mash(a wee bit simple) and light salad(for shame that it was iceberg though!). Whew. Oh, and can’t forget its follow-up act – Chocolate Pudding Cake with Espresso Whipped Cream and Chocolate Ganache. Yow.

Overall rating of the film… I mean our experience of the evening? The atmosphere, lovely. The staff, mmm,  reasonable. The decor and set-up? Well laid out, and bravo to the movie!Our overall evening turned out pleasant, comfy, was attended with great company, and held a few nice surprises from the well-known Foreign Cinema. Would they win an award for an overall cast performance? I refrain to answer. Will I go back? Maybe… but this hinges on my abilities to keep a hankering for the favorite lady of the evening at bay.

About Heather K

Community Manager by day - Aspiring Food Writer by night. I'm a dreamer, traveler, baker, cook, slow food advocate, runner, road biker, hiker, walker, urbanista, photographer, ceramicist, reader, sunset admirer, experimental, city kid, well-rounded, independent, and lover of all things English (esp. my Brit). Food. It connects everyone. It creates cultures, experiences, emotions, and environments. I grew up with a sibling, so I like to do sharesies - yes at dinner but online too. Plan - I share my passion for food with you, you share yours with me. We can have a proper chat :) Its the one thing I will never tire to chat (or learn!) about. Oh, and it would be superb to figure out my writing style and voice while I'm at it. Learn a little about myself here. Discuss experiences, trials, tribulations, and the journey. You know the schpeal. Go ahead. Take a bite.
This entry was posted in Reviews, San Francisco and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

