Rain, you are welcome in San Francisco

I will be the first to admit it. I love weather. I mean, how could I not?

1) I grew up in Chicago. Yes yes, I know, its freaking freezing in the winter, sweltering in the summer… but let me tell you when those thunder storms come rolling in as you watch them from your porch, and you can sit outside while smelling  the sweet scent of fresh rain and ground – nothing beats it!).

2) I lived in England… for a year… during the most wet summer(and spring, fall, and winter – if you ask me) … yet I did not get depressed or miss the sun(although my olive toned skin did, thank you Moroccan vacation for helping me out in that department, as well as Cornwall, you devilishly sunny southwest side of England – always remember sunscreen people!)

3) I used to conduct rain races with my brother. What is this you ask? Well… you start in the garage, run out, downhill, jump in the flooding road water at the manhole, run back up, and do your best not to slip on the now wet, no-traction, cement floor of the garage when you race in. Obviously, this became a bit of a danger, and too much for my super-clean Pops and Step mom, so, the game stopped. Anyway, back to that weather business…

Being that I really do love the weather. There is nothing better than sitting by a fire watching the snow fall out the window, sipping some tea and reading as you listen to the raindrops hit your roof, or watching a phenomenon that is new to me – FOG! – role in over the hills of San Francisco to blanket our crazy city and make it seem calm and sleepy. Needless to say when I moved up to San Francisco from San Jose (boring!) I was ready for the weather change, and every once in a while, I get the joy of experiencing it!

Thus, when the weather report this week spoke of rain, and lots of it, boy was I ready! Umbrella- the windproof kind, thank you Knirps – check! New water-resistent rain jacket – a Barbour no less(thank you Brit! Love it!) – check! But the key here is new Wellies (for those unaccustomed to English, these are rain boots, aka Wellingtons, aka Hunter boots) – check! I am set. I trucked out in that rain, and, yes, make fun, I love it. EVEN when I get a bit more soaked than expected. Such as when a car rolls by and hits that huge pothole that used to be on the road but now looks like a puddle… sigh. At least this doesn’t happen every time it rains . Also, how could one not appreciate that amazing side effect that ALL San Francisco streets become so much cleaner, and, ahem, give off such a better scent, than in their usual state with the arrival of pouring rain!

Last reason why weather is great? It makes me bake! Such as those delicious Orange-peel and Currant Scones that popped out of the oven this past weekend.

Whew. Like I said. I love weather. What are your thoughts? Like it? Love it? Hate it? Don’t want to be a part of it?

About Heather K

Community Manager by day - Aspiring Food Writer by night. I'm a dreamer, traveler, baker, cook, slow food advocate, runner, road biker, hiker, walker, urbanista, photographer, ceramicist, reader, sunset admirer, experimental, city kid, well-rounded, independent, and lover of all things English (esp. my Brit). Food. It connects everyone. It creates cultures, experiences, emotions, and environments. I grew up with a sibling, so I like to do sharesies - yes at dinner but online too. Plan - I share my passion for food with you, you share yours with me. We can have a proper chat :) Its the one thing I will never tire to chat (or learn!) about. Oh, and it would be superb to figure out my writing style and voice while I'm at it. Learn a little about myself here. Discuss experiences, trials, tribulations, and the journey. You know the schpeal. Go ahead. Take a bite.
This entry was posted in San Francisco, Thoughts - Memories - Pish Posh and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

