Titles and Names

Transitions.

Nothing wrong with them. They are welcome always. Especially this time around. For the first time in my career, I will have an official title. No “contractor”. No “intern”. Not that those titles are any less, but, I am ready for change. I am ready to take on something new. Challenging. And, well, comes with a new title. Over the past few years, as I have really become a part of my own personal style and discovery of food, I have done the same with my likes and dislikes of my 9-5 career: Marketing. Starting Monday, I will be a full-time employee. BOY am I ready. Research Associate I am ready for you(I think!) !

The same goes with my transition of my Resi Oma’s (great grandma’s) passing a few years back. This little, teeny, weeny, Austrian woman. Who couldn’t speak English (yes… she did know how to curse, if you really need to know, but it still sounded cute coming out of her little German accent inflicted self). Although I have learned much through my Oma, my mother, my father – no joking here, how do you think I know how to grill, and cook seafood – better than him these days 😉 – my little Resi Oma taught me a lot about, well, her favorite things, such as Austrian Crepes( holy lord are these amazing!) and the beauty of having Ricola stuffed in an Apron 24/7. Have a cough? Have a sweet!

This little woman meant the world to me, and if she was around, I think SHE would still be the shrimp of the family (the name has since passed to me, awesome), and transitioning from her being around as my sidekick in crime, to seeing her smiling face in a photo, well, it was tough. So, what better of a way to keep her memory alive (and her love for eating, and teaching me that love), than to share her with all of you. I will never forget hearing her chime “Mange Mange” (pronounced Man-ja Man-ja – meaning “Eat Eat!”) to me, as I stuffed my face a wee one. Thankfully, I have learned how to savour my foods by now, I still can hear her in my head, shaking that petite little head of hers at me.

So that’s what in a name. A title. Anything really. Its sentiment. Its value. Its something that represents you, and your past, and your future. So – thanks new job! And thanks Resi Oma, for inspiring me as a child, and in keeping my passions alive. Mange Mange everyone! What might be the sentiment that is behind your blog or other past time passion keepers be? I’d love to hear!

About Heather K

Community Manager by day - Aspiring Food Writer by night. I'm a dreamer, traveler, baker, cook, slow food advocate, runner, road biker, hiker, walker, urbanista, photographer, ceramicist, reader, sunset admirer, experimental, city kid, well-rounded, independent, and lover of all things English (esp. my Brit). Food. It connects everyone. It creates cultures, experiences, emotions, and environments. I grew up with a sibling, so I like to do sharesies - yes at dinner but online too. Plan - I share my passion for food with you, you share yours with me. We can have a proper chat :) Its the one thing I will never tire to chat (or learn!) about. Oh, and it would be superb to figure out my writing style and voice while I'm at it. Learn a little about myself here. Discuss experiences, trials, tribulations, and the journey. You know the schpeal. Go ahead. Take a bite.
This entry was posted in Thoughts - Memories - Pish Posh and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

