Yay! Persimmons… even if its delayed

I was aiming to get this out back around the New Year. New year, new fruits, new desserts. You get my drift. But, I got sidetracked, as many do. So without a due, lets talk about the past, and get excited for the future use of this lovely!

Many people have hobbies that are well… amazing. Skydiving. Surfing. Creating furniture from scratch. Making tailored aprons(ahem – Haus). I, am a simpleton. And, none the less a happy to admit nerd – I collect, and highly covet, cookbooks. With that comes a certain process (and if you are a cookbook – obsessed as the Brit likes to say or a lover as I call myself – you understand this)  comes with the acquisition, and final use of such a prized piece. Especially so if it’s a hard to get one, and oldie but goodie,  or a “foreigner”, but more about that later.

Pre-baking

This winter I acquired a delightful book, as probably did many other people, that has not only some amazing tips (people – read the introductions to these books, they are there for a reason! its like a back window view into the author and/or chefs thoughts!) but some pret-ty superb looking recipes. AND these recipes are great for groups – which is definitely one of my favorite ways to cook – big and for a happy family (of friends that is). Also, I am an utter sucker for pictures, especially of food, and this book has beautiful ones that have a bit of an inspiring vintage feel to them even though they are from the recent past. To my surprise within a book of so many familiar tastes, ideas, and refurbished dishes of cultures and times past, I was caught off guard by something entirely new: Persimmon Pudding. Ok… so, this might sound weird to some, but let me tell you, if you have: a) never even seen or had a persimmon and b) even remotely like Flan, Panna Cotta, or any other light and airy cake come pudding textured desserts – you are going to swoon over this tasty goodness.

So, thank you David Tanis and A Platter of Figs and Other Recipes, for showing me the sunset colored light, and all of my friends who tasted, and ate all but 2 pieces of my entire batch (two cakes for 8 friends people – they ate almost 2 cakes!) of this undiscovered – and sadly – unsung after dinner hero! I can’t wait for your arrival come fall.

David Tanis’ Persimmon Pudding

*The original recipe calls for buttermilk, but I went ahead and used yogurt, for that was what I had on hand and the cake came out with one superb texture!

  • 2 cups chopped persimmon (about 4 to 5 large persimmons)
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 cup yogurt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup half and half
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 325F. Place the sugar and persimmons in a food processor and puree. Do this in more than one batch if necessary. Strain the mixture into a large bowl with a fine mesh strainer. Beat in the eggs one at a time.

Sift the flour and baking powder together in a small bowl. In a third bowl, combine the yogurt, half-and-half, and baking soda. In an alternating pattern, mix the flour mixture and yogurt mixture into the persimmon and eggs, stirring well after each addition.Lastly, add the cinnamon and vanilla, and mix until fully combined.

Melt the butter. Butter a 9 by 13 in baking pan (or two round cake pans as I used) using a pastry brush with the melted butter.  Pour that batter into the baking pan, or evenly into two round cake pans, and bake for one hour, or until a thin knife inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean.

The cake itself will not brown much on top, but will rather look like a flan might in the oven, so do base its time in the over on the clean utensil routine.

Serve with ice cream or simple whipped cream.

About Heather K

Community Manager by day - Aspiring Food Writer by night. I'm a dreamer, traveler, baker, cook, slow food advocate, runner, road biker, hiker, walker, urbanista, photographer, ceramicist, reader, sunset admirer, experimental, city kid, well-rounded, independent, and lover of all things English (esp. my Brit). Food. It connects everyone. It creates cultures, experiences, emotions, and environments. I grew up with a sibling, so I like to do sharesies - yes at dinner but online too. Plan - I share my passion for food with you, you share yours with me. We can have a proper chat :) Its the one thing I will never tire to chat (or learn!) about. Oh, and it would be superb to figure out my writing style and voice while I'm at it. Learn a little about myself here. Discuss experiences, trials, tribulations, and the journey. You know the schpeal. Go ahead. Take a bite.
This entry was posted in Cookin and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yay! Persimmons… even if its delayed

  1. kaitlyn says:

    i HAVE this book (you gave it to me) and this recipe looks amazing, i’ll bookmark it now.

Leave a Reply

