25 and still alive: Kahlua + Baking = Cake

Sanitas Trail in Snow!

I will be the first to admit. I have been a slacker on my blog as of late. I will now proceed to blame it on my dire old age: of 25. My birthday came and went with the holidays in a blur, and consisted of a superb dinner (and a reminiscent one at that!) at The Kitchen in Boulder, preceded by a morning hike in the snow, a bit of Prosecco with the Turnbull Davies familia, and followed by more Prosecco and some mean bowling(on the Wii… I know, very exciting, we did watch the ball drop at least okay!). But further to the point. This birthday was a special one.

No. It wasn’t my golden.

Ready to be had!

No. I did not get hitched (although I did get the coolest stacked ring from San Francisco Designer Samantha Edson, via The Mission Statement and a thoughtful Brit!)

This year, I got a cake. Baked just for me!

Look at that beautiful crust!

I know, you are thinking to yourself, “HEY! Cheater! You don’t post for over a month, and then the first one back, you post something, that you didn’t even make!” Well. Its okay. I needed a kick in the bum to post, and I could not not share this delicious moist boozy goodness of a cake with you. Its master is the Brit’s Mum (yes, she is called Mum, so I will just go with it), and it has won over many a folk, including those that do not normally count themselves as dessert devotees (although, honestly, HOW do people like that even exist? I don’t know. It’s bonkers, really).

Kahlua Cake. In a bundt pan! Never has a crusty golden cake looked so good (or retro! and amazing!) as this one. This cake was special, and made my birthday extra great (and, since I have not had a baked good made for me in oh, 8 or so years, this was pret-ty exciting stuff to me)! So here’s to the Brit’s Mum, to a New Year and working harder at posting, and here to sharing the great recipe with you!

A week behind schedule, here is the most sought after recipe!

CHOCOLATE KAHLUA CAKE

1 cup chopped pecans
1 pkg. German chocolate cake mix
1 sm. pkg. instant chocolate pudding
4 eggs
1/2 c. cold water
1/2 c. oil
1/2 c. kahlua liquor

(If cake mix already contains pudding, omit pudding, use 3 eggs and 1/3 cup oil.)Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grease and flour tube pan. Sprinkle nuts over bottom of pan. Mix remaining ingredients together. Pour over nuts. Bake 1 hour. While hot spoon glaze over cake in pan. Allow cake to absorb glaze. Repeat until glaze is used. Cool in pan. Invert on plate.
GLAZE:
1/4 lb. butter
1/4 c. water
1 c. sugar
1/2 c. kahlua
Melt butter in saucepan. Stir in water and sugar. Boil 5 minutes stirring constantly. Remove from heat. Stir in Kahlua. remove from heat, and drizzle onto cake as instructed above.
About Heather K

Community Manager by day - Aspiring Food Writer by night. I'm a dreamer, traveler, baker, cook, slow food advocate, runner, road biker, hiker, walker, urbanista, photographer, ceramicist, reader, sunset admirer, experimental, city kid, well-rounded, independent, and lover of all things English (esp. my Brit). Food. It connects everyone. It creates cultures, experiences, emotions, and environments. I grew up with a sibling, so I like to do sharesies - yes at dinner but online too. Plan - I share my passion for food with you, you share yours with me. We can have a proper chat :) Its the one thing I will never tire to chat (or learn!) about. Oh, and it would be superb to figure out my writing style and voice while I'm at it. Learn a little about myself here. Discuss experiences, trials, tribulations, and the journey. You know the schpeal. Go ahead. Take a bite.
This entry was posted in Boulder/Denver, Cookin, Thoughts - Memories - Pish Posh, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 25 and still alive: Kahlua + Baking = Cake

  1. Robert says:

    Hello, Heather.

    Happy Birthday (and Happy New Year)!

    I’m with you – it’s not up to you to make your own cake! Aah, Mum’s home cooking…

    Glad you had a good time. Bon appétit for 2011.

    • Heather K says:

      Thanks so much Robert! I haven’t heard from you in awhile (I know, it goes for me as well!) It was great to have a cake made for me, and by quite the seasoned baker (thanks KT!)

Leave a Reply

