When in doubt… make brownies!

Brownies - Or one giant one at the moment

For those of you who know me, I am a bit of a domestic dork, as you might say. Yes, I am that girlfriend that makes her boyfriend’s lunches, and packs a tasty snack for tea time (he’s British, what can I say, old habits die hard people). I of course enjoy these baked goods too now and again (if I get to them before the men do) but really I just bake to get random messages on my phone saying how wonderful I am 🙂

Brownies, however, are a special treat. I have always found it hard to really latch onto one brownie recipe, being they are all so different. Some suggest cooking till they are crumbly, some fudgy, some thin, some extra thick, some with cocoa powder, some with milk chocolate. This girl though, likes it simple, and classic, and Ottolenghi’s superb rendition of brownies that I miss dearly, and used to enjoy back in my days spent wandering the streets of Islington (London, for those of you non other side of the pond folk) and tucking into. They are the perfect combo of moist, a wee bit fudgy, with a crisp crackly top, a smooth and creamy mouth feel, and are dark dark dark! I even sometimes add a few dark chips to stay whole at the end. Needless to say, I love these brownies, and my lover loves me more for making them, so give them a go and see what happens 🙂 Scrummy!

Perfect size for one

What is you favorite style of brownie? I am always up to new challenges! 🙂

Dark Chocolate Brownies

(Adapted from Ottolenghi’s Cookbook Ottolenghi)

200g unsalted butter (plus a bit more for greasing the pan)

280g whole wheat pastry flour

½ tsp salt

300g high-quality dark chocolate broken into piece(60% or higher cocoa content preferred)

220g caster sugar

2 large brown eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat you oven to 350 degrees F.

Grease a 22cm square baking tin with butter and line with parchment paper (if available).

Sift together the pastry flour and salt in a large bowl, set aside.

Place a heat-proof bowl with the butter and chocolate in it over a saucepan of simmering water, making sure the water doesn’t touch the base of the bowl. Leave to melt, stirring from every now and again. As soon as it’s melted remove the bowl from above the water for you do not want the chocolate mixture to become too hot.

In a large bowl lightly whisk together the eggs, sugar & vanilla. Work them until just combined. Fold in the melted chocolate mixture. Then add the sifted flour in batches.

Pour the batter into your greased (or lined, if you prefer) tin.  Place on center shelf of  the oven and bake for about 20 to 25 mins (don’t overcook!). Sometimes, 20 mins is enough. Allow to cool completely before removing from the tin (you may even want to chill it first).

This will keep in an airtight container for up to 5 days. They are tasty chilled and sliced thin, or in luscious squares that are melt-in-your-mouth warm. Any which way will do!

About Heather K

Community Manager by day - Aspiring Food Writer by night. I'm a dreamer, traveler, baker, cook, slow food advocate, runner, road biker, hiker, walker, urbanista, photographer, ceramicist, reader, sunset admirer, experimental, city kid, well-rounded, independent, and lover of all things English (esp. my Brit). Food. It connects everyone. It creates cultures, experiences, emotions, and environments. I grew up with a sibling, so I like to do sharesies - yes at dinner but online too. Plan - I share my passion for food with you, you share yours with me. We can have a proper chat :) Its the one thing I will never tire to chat (or learn!) about. Oh, and it would be superb to figure out my writing style and voice while I'm at it. Learn a little about myself here. Discuss experiences, trials, tribulations, and the journey. You know the schpeal. Go ahead. Take a bite.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

